Shared Expertise, Resources

African-american surgeon giving instruction to medical team.

The Valley Health System (VHS) shares expertise, services and resources across its six hospitals. Below are the VHS service lines that share these resources across three or more facilities. You can be assured that you are receiving the same high level of care at each facility.

Cardiac Services — Open Heart Surgery

All six VHS hospitals offer comprehensive cardiac services; the following four locations offer open heart surgery:

Chest Pain Center — Accredited by ACC

Five VHS hospitals have Chest Pain Centers accredited by the American College of Cardiology (ACC):

Maternity Services — Nursery and NICU

Four VHS hospitals have maternity services with Level I (well baby) nurseries. Three have a Level III neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) for seriously ill or premature infants. Staff in Level II nurseries treat premature and ill infants who do not require as high a level of care as those treated in a Level III nursery:

Rehabilitation — Acute Inpatient

Four VHS hospitals have inpatient rehabilitation facilities for people who need post-surgical, stroke, injury or other rehabilitation services:

Rehabilitation — Outpatient

Three VHS hospitals have outpatient rehabilitation facilities:

Stroke Care — Primary Stroke Center

Five VHS hospitals have Joint Commission-accredited Primary Stroke Centers: 

Surgery — Robotic

All six VHS hospitals have comprehensive surgical departments; four of them offer robotic surgery:

Wound Care and Hyperbaric Medicine

Five VHS hospitals have advanced technology to treat chronic wounds: